Pros advice

Seve Trophy: Lawrie Disappointed Over Absentees

Scotland ace Paul Lawrie has criticised six of his Ryder Cup winning team-mates for their decision to opt out of the upcoming Seve Trophy next week.

Lawrie, who also aimed his disappointment towards Rory McIlroy, is part of the Great Britain and Ireland team that will look to record a seventh consecutive victory over Europe.

As well as McIlroy choosing to pass on the Seve Trophy, other big names absentees include Graeme McDowell, Luke Donald, Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood and Justin Rose.

"I don't quite understand it and it's extremely disappointing," said Lawrie. The biennial competition - created by the late world number one Seve Ballesteros – was introduced in 2000 and takes place on years when the Ryder Cup is not contested.

Lawrie added: "I would walk to Paris to play and I would have done whatever it took to be in that team next week. With Seve's name attached to it and the idea behind the tournament, it's kind of the equivalent of the Presidents Cup for the American boys."

The GB and Ireland team will be led by Sam Torrance, while leading the line for Europe will be Jose Olazabal, who will have to make do without the presence of Spaniard Sergio Garcia.

Full BG and Ireland & European Squads:

GB and Ireland: Sam Torrance (Scotland, capt), Paul Casey (England), Jamie Donaldson (Wales), Tommy Fleetwood (England), Stephen Gallacher (Scotland), Scott Jamieson (Scotland), Simon Khan (England), Paul Lawrie (Scotland), David Lynn (England), Marc Warren (Scotland), Chris Wood (England)

Europe: Jose Maria Olazabal (Spain, captain), Thomas Bjorn (Denmark), Gregory Bourdy (France), Nicolas Colsaerts (Belgium), Peter Hanson (Sweden), Mikko Ilonen (Finland), Miguel Angel Jimenez (Spain), Joost Luiten (Holland), Matteo Manassero (Italy), Francesco Molinari (Italy), Thorbjorn Olesen (Holland)